Like it or Not – A simple solution for the bikini line? Yes!

Razor, shaving, bikini, pubic hair

Panasonic Close Curves Wet/Dry Ladies Shaver – My summer has just improved. Photo from Target.com

Like many of you, I have tried most of the common methods to strip down the hair down there. The goal is to avoid looking like I’m hiding a small woodland creature in the lower half of my swimming suit (no exposed hair, no 5 o’clock shadow)- I am not aiming for a Brazilian, skinny landing strip, or hardwoods (all bare down there).

My recent discovery has been a lady shaver. After some research (meaning the brand that came up frequently on good reviews) I decided to purchase the Panasonic Wet/Dry Close Curves Ladies Shaver (4 blades). It can be used wet or dry, it’s rechargeable, and gives a very close shave. No pain, bumps, or mess. I love this tool and wish I would have discovered it sooner. You will have to shave a little more often than waxing, but it is so quick to use it doesn’t make much of a difference to me. Here are some of my trial and tribulations prior to using this razor.

A History of bikini area failures through the decades….

 

old swimsuit

In the beginning

 

In the very beginning as a teen, I chose to use a manual razor. Regardless of what I did, I would get razor bumps and ingrown hairs. I tried exfoliating and a few other tips and tricks, including always using a new razor and shaving cream. This did not significantly help and I ended up maneuvering my swimsuit bottoms to cover the itchy red bumps as a result. On to my next method.

The adventure of professionally waxing the Bikini area in my 20’s…..

spa

Looks so relaxing

bad wax

Looks so painful

My girlfriend and I decided to “splurge” for a bikini wax at a spa. So, we both go to our beautiful rooms with pretty smells, low lights, and calming music – what a nice experience. I’m sure they try to make this as pleasant and relaxing as possible to subside the screaming that could occur (if you’ve seen the movie “Hitch” – it’s a good reference). But, when you have hot wax put on your pubic area and the hairs ripped out of your skin and mind you, some skin may rip off as well, the smell of Lavender and sounds of Enya, waterfalls, and chirping woodland creatures…does not dull the pain. The low candle light does help so you cannot see the red, inflamed skin and possibly droplets of blood. Afterward, they apply ointment to calm the skin – and mind you, my skin was super angry at this point. My girlfriend who is a redhead and very fair skinned suffered a bit more than I and there was some bloodshed. So, we waddled our way out of the spa and across the street over to Bartell’s drug store and bought aloe vera gel amongst other skin soothers.

Now, professional waxing will last longer than shaving but, by the time my wounds healed (bumps, scabs, etc.) the hair was growing back as well….This was not a good solution for me.

Think positive…I can do this!….DIY waxing at home in the comforts of your bathroom….

wax choices

Oh, the choices…(pic by Allure Body Bar)

Not only will this be private, but I will be more economical buying a tub of professional wax from my local salon store and manicure the bikini line on my own. I bought a tub of Brazilian Bikini Wax (thinking “hey, I don’t need a Brazilian so this will be overkill”) which should work just great. This is the type of wax you microwave to melt and no paper – just apply and yank. Anyway, I applied this green, hot, sticky, dripping wax. I accidentally got it in hair I didn’t want to be involved, as well as hair I did want to involve. In addition, I have this stuff all over the bathroom and somehow the popsicle stick applicator has gotten wax all over the floor, tub, sink, and cabinet. This is not that easy to remove…..from anything….skin, adjacent hair, or bathroom fixtures.

The Panasonic Close Curves 4 blade razor has really simplified hair removal for me, although, I do understand this is not rocket science. In addition, I do not suffer from irritation to my skin. I completely get that this is personal preference and I applaud any choice you make about your hair – kudos to all of you!

Please feel free to let me know what works and what doesn’t for you.

 

Leave a Reply

